28th February Road
(near Independence Square)
Mon - Fri 8.00 - 17.00
Sat & Sun CLOSED



Ing. Mark Teiko Codjoe

Regional Chief Manager

Ing. Mark Teiko Codjoe is a Mechanical Engineer with specialization in Water Production System Operations. He holds a Master’s degree in Engineering Management obtained from Coventry University in the United Kingdom, a Certificate in Management of Urban Water Supply Systems from WEDC, Loughborough University also in the United Kingdom and a Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering from KNUST in Ghana.

He joined GWCL as Assistant Engineer in 1990 and worked through the ranks in various operational Units and Regions of GWCL, to become a Regional Chief Manager in 2015. Ing. Codjoe was once the Plant Maintenance Engineer (Mechanical) for the Kpong Water Treatment Plant and Station Manager for the Weija treatment Plant.

He has also worked as Regional Engineer for Brong-Ahafo Region, Regional Production Manager for Western Region and Acting Chief Manager for Ashanti South and Upper West Regions.

Prior to his transfer to Accra West in June 2019, as Region Chief Manager, he was the Regional Chief Manager for GWCL’s operations in the Western Region.

Ing. Teiko Codjoe has had the opportunity in the past, to work with the United Kingdom’s Water Supply Company, Thames Water, on attachment. He has over twenty-nine (29) years of experience in the water supply industry, which cuts across plant installation and maintenance as well as process control and engineering management.

Ing. Codjoe is passionate about engineering training and development. He is a member of the Ghana Institution of Engineers.

The Accra West Region

Accra West Region is one of the three operational regions of Ghana Water Company Limited in the Greater Accra Region, with the other two being Accra East and Tema Regions.

The Region stretches from the Kwame Nkrumah Circle and encompasses the western section of Accra, along the coast to Kasoa. It is bounded on the North-East by the main Accra-Kumasi highway, up to Pobiman.

Accra West Region has twelve (12) operational Districts, namely: Mamprobi, Dansoman, Dansoman South, Odorkor, Kaneshie/Awudome, Darkuman/Gbawe, Sowutuom, Weija, Bortianor, Nyanyarno, Kasoa and Amasaman.

The major communities in the Region include Korle-Bu, Kaneshie, Awudome Estates, Avenor, Mamprobi, Chorkor, Russia, Bubuashie, Odorkor Dansoman, Darkuman, Kwashieman, Abeka Lapaz, Sowutuom, Mallam, McCarthy Hill, Weija, Bortianor, Nyanyarno, Kasoa and Amasaman.

Water Supply in Accra West Region

Water supply currently does not cover the entire Region. This is because the existing water distribution network is not enough to match-up with the rapid expansion of the new communities, especially in the Kasoa, Anyaa and Ablekuma areas.

The supply coverage for the Region is just about 60%, and the current total customer strength for the Region is about 110,457. There are plans underway to embark on sustained pipeline extension projects with support from GWCL Head Office.

The GAMA Project is also helping to expand the supply network and improve distribution in some low-income communities in the Region.

Source of Supply

The major source of water to the Region is from the Weija Treatment Plant with average production of 162,700 cubic meters/day (35.8MGD).

Water demand within the Accra West Region is mostly for domestic purposes. There are however a number of low-scale business units, shops, hotels, restaurants and educational institutions scattered across the Region. The few factories located within the Industrial Area are not major water consumers.


Kasoa District

District Manager:  Mr. Emmanuel Aberinga

Office Location:  Kasoa New Market, Adjacent Beige Bank

Communities served:  Kasoa, Opeikuma, Amanfrom and Ofaakor. The District has some of the fastest developing communities in the Region.

Nyanyarno District

Ag. District Manager:  Mr. Iddrisu Mahama

Office Location:  Nyanyarno Adade Junction

Communities served:  Nyanyarno, Tuba, Kuwait, Kokrobite, Galilea Market, Millennium City,

Langma, Fijai, Safari, CP, Brigade.

Bortiano District

District Manager:  Mr. Augustus Ashong

Contact Nos.:  0302935474, 0302935473

Office Location:  GICEL Commercial Centre (SCC)

Communities served:  New and Old Bortiano Towns, Aplaku, Tetegu, Dunkona, Kokrobite, Tuba

and the old Broadcasting Area.

Weija District

District Manager:  Mr. Joseph Ashley

Contact No.:  0303968784

Office Location:  GICEL Commercial Centre (SCC)

Communities served:  Weija, Oblogo, GICEL, Janman, Maccarthy Hill.


District Manager:  Mr. Edmund Slippi Mensah

Contact Nos.:  0303968788

Office Location:  Darkuman-Cable and Wireless

Communities served:  New Tetegu, Gbawe, Mallam, Awoshie, Anyaa, Ablekuma, Asofaa, Kwashieman, Santa Maria, parts of Sowutuom and parts of Pokuase.

Mamprobi District

District Manager:  Mr. Christian Akutey

Contact Nos.:  0302-968-781, 0303-968-782

District Office Location:  Abossey Okai  Zongo Junction

Communities served:  Korle-Bu, Mamprobi, Laterbiokoshie, Abbosey Okai, Mataheko, Chorkor, Russia and surrounding areas.

Major institutions:  The major institutions in the District are the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital and St Mary’s Secondary School.

Dansoman District

District Manager:  Mr. Mohammed Essuman

Contact No.:  0302305545

District Office Location:  Dansoman Roundabout, adjacent St. Martin de Porres School

Communities served:  Dansoman Township, Parts of Odorkor, Sakaman, Hansonic, Tweneboah, Akokofoto, New Russia, Zamamara line, Damba, Halm Down and CMB.

Dansoman South District

District Manager:  Mr. Simon Yaw Manu

Office location:  Dansoman Roundabout, adjacent St. Martin de Porres School

Contact No.:  0244273708

Communities served:  Banana Inn, Camara, Chorkor, New Mamprobi, Aborgwe, IBE, Petroleum, Opetekwei, Wiaman, Glefe, Mpoase, Karikari, Agege, Shiabu.

Odorkor District

District Manager:  Mrs. Genevieve Ayim

Contact Nos.:  0303976526

District Office Location:  Kwame Nkrumah Circle, Adjacent the VIP Bus Terminal.

Communities served:  Odorkor Township, Tesano, Apenkwa, Abeka, New Fadama and Darkuman.

Major institutions:  The National Police Training School and the Ghana Telecom University.

Kaneshie/Awudome District

District Manager:  Mrs. Philomena Kusi-Minkah

Contact Nos.:  0303-968-678, 0303-968-679

District Office Location:  Kwame Nkrumah Circle, Adjacent the VIP Bus Terminal

Communities served:  Kwame Nkrumah Circle (the western section of the Achimota Road, North Industrial Area, North-Kaneshie, Bubuashie and Awudome Estates.

Major institutions:  The Industrial area constitutes the major consumption zone and also acts as the highest revenue generation zone for the District. Apart from the major industries, Accra Academy and Cocoa Clinic are the major institutions in the district.

Sowutuom District

District Manager:  Ms. Gifty Okraku

Contact Nos.:  0303968790, 0303968789

Office Location:  Behind the Kata Hostel at Lapaz (Along the N1 Road)

Communities served:  Akweteyman, Chantan, Tabora, Nii Boye Town, Ofankor, parts of Kwashieman, Santa Maria, parts of Sowutuom, Olebu and parts of Pokuase.

Major institution:  The Catholic Seminary.

Amasaman District

District Manager:  Mr. Stephen Agyin

Contact No.:  0509610776 / 0278188844

Office Location:  The Works Department of Ga West Municipal Assembly

Communities served:  Amasaman Township, Abehenease, Toman, Sapeiman, Pobiman, Obeyeyie, Daaresalam, Fise, Amanfrom and parts of Pokuase